Earthworm Poop! Skincare Find or Fad?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just when you think you have heard everything crazy to smear on your face (placenta, bird droppings, chocolate, 24k Gold to name a few) some with outrageous claims, the new kid on the block gaining a buzz is Earthworm excrement or poop!

The claims sound great, like everything that we always want to hear when we are searching for the “Fountain of Youth”. The Poop (or worm castings) is rich in peptides and enzymes that have been clinically shown to repair damaged skin.

Some of these cosmetic preparations may contain some of the following- Humates  ( Humic Acid) an anti-inflammatory and immunity boosting compound for skin found in decaying plant material and used as a soil conditioner, Auxins plant hormones with skin firming, anti-aging and neuroprotective benefits, Cytokintins antioxidants that promote healthy cell growth, collagen production and reduce the signs of photo aging and free radical damage while improving skin appearance, Kinetins plant growth hormones that retain moisture contain anti-oxidants that protect but no published research on topical effects.

The idea of using this in cosmetics came about from farmers that have worm excrement in a water tea mixture on their hands and found that it helped relief numerous skin ailments such as psoriasis and eczema.

Now, I have to be honest with you I have not used any products with this ingredient and while doing research I have found little evidence to support these claims. The only brand I was able to contact was Wrinkle Butter by Fresh Beauty Market www.freshbeautymarket.com approx. $19.00 prices vary online. In my book the ingredients sound promising but I have found that to be the case in most cosmetics lines. I felt it was my duty to give you the scoop on the poop Lol! (I know I’m sinking to new levels) If you or anyone you know has used worm castings on your skin I’d like to know, what do you think? Find or Fad? (For now my grading scale it is “Kat on the Fence” I’m not sure which way to pounce).

Leave a Reply

